Upstairs & Downstairs: Filing for Your Motion to Be Admitted

Upon receipt of the penultimate step, as I put it, I immediately set forth to prepare the necessary documents to move my application for admission with the High Court.  This parade of papers is decently described in the materials provided by the Law Society, but a sheer novice is likely to miss details in one document or another, causing yet more delay.  For example, though I’m familiar with bluebacks for motion papers in NY, I didn’t realize what the caption page I had copied from my friend’s papers were about until I saw the clerk staple it to the back of my motion, with the caption facing outwards.  So yes – I highly recommend getting papers to copy from another successful movant!

Once I remembered to bring my checkbook to this time send my money to the Government of Hong Kong, I proceeded to the High Court, located in Admiralty.  Having done a lot of my own filings back in New York, I had some concept of the technicalities of filing a motion, but I had no idea how much upstairs and downstairs there would be!

When I hit up the Registry, I was told that I had to turn around and go down a floor to Accounts to pay the filing fee and have my motion stamped and obtain a receipt for pay.  Then I could go back up to the Registry and file.  All my papers were re-ordered and nearly ready, but I had to go down to the Clerk’s Office to get my actual date.  Once I went down to set my date (admissions are every Saturday morning at 9:30am, for around 10 movants), I took the date and went back to the Registry to file my papers complete with that.

Another detail NOT in the Law Society’s instructions, you have to indicate on top of your motion that this is a “non-monetary claim” and an “application (solicitor).”  Knowing that would have saved me time, since I had to write that on my papers, plus all the copies I’d be serving (and the one I’d keep).

Then next stop is to serve the papers, as stamped by the High Court, on the Department of Justice.  The DOJ is just next door, but it was not entirely clear which floor to go.  FYI – it’s the 2nd floor.

Finally, you head back towards Central to (re)visit the Law Society and serve the stamped motion on them.

You wait around a week to get a no objection letter, confirm whether you will be swearing or affirming, and then you just gather your legal attire and get ready for the special day at long long last!

2 responses to “Upstairs & Downstairs: Filing for Your Motion to Be Admitted

  1. Pingback: Legal Dress in Hong Kong | Because It's Time

  2. Pingback: Q&A: Foreign Lawyers Becoming HK Barristers | Because It's Time

Leave a Reply

