So…What Are You? (Part II)

Identity is not only an issue in the US, apparently, but most definitely one in Hong Kong.  For the most part, it seems Hong Kongers try to distance themselves with China, and in its ugliest form, even be quite discriminatory against Chinese.   Rarely will a Hong Konger ever dare suggest they are to be considered equals to those on the Mainland.  But once in a while, you’d be surprised.

Most recently in the Olympics, I recalled feeling a bit of surprise when one Hong Kong athlete remarked that he considered himself a part of Team China, despite there being separate teams.  It would make sense to want to bask in China’s pride, where the nation once again brought back plenty of medals to celebrate, but yet I was really shocked that he’d make that statement.  (Sorry for no link – just saw it on the news one night!).

More recently in my own experience, I got wrapped up in the following “facebook fight.”  Unfortunately few others dared get involved (or maybe didn’t care), but I post it below for your entertainment or enlightenment.  Either way, I hope to get some public discussion on this one.  (I’ve changed the names for everyone’s privacy.)

PRC Supporter  about an hour ago near Hong Kong ·
You are granted 3 stars permanent residency of Hong Kong. The government gives away $6000 and you took it. Hong Kong is part of China. You still claim that you are not Chinese?
LikeUnlike · ·Unfollow PostFollow Post
6 people like this.

      Expat-PR
        Yes
        59 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike 

  • PRCSupporter

     Hoho tonight’s speech objectives raise a lot of questions in me.
    55 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
     
  • Expat-PR

     Go on – give me something to get my teeth into!!
    54 minutes ago ·UnlikeLike · 1
     
  • ME
     but getting permanent residency does NOT confer permanent residency in China.
    49 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
     
  • Expat-PR

     And getting PR is not the same as getting 3 stars
    47 minutes ago ·UnlikeLike · 1
     
    PRC Supporter
  •  Hong Kong is part of China. Disagree?
     44 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
     
  • PRCSupporter

     PR cannot get $6000?
    43 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
     
  • ME

     Hong Kong is an SAR. Disagree?
    39 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • PRC Supporter
     ME: did you get $6000?
    36 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
     
  • ME
    Nope, I certainly did not!
    36 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike

  • Expat-PR
     PR can get $6K but PR does not equal 3 stars
     35 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • Expat-PR
     I did.
    35 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME
     http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/asia_pacific/china-denounces-hong-konger-trend/2012/01/10/gIQAmivNqP_story.html?socialreader_check=0&denied=1I guess you would be smearing Chung’s research as well, PRC Supporter.

    www.washingtonpost.com

    A recent survey found that fewer and fewer Hong Kong residents view themselves primarily as Chinese.
    34 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike ·
  • PRC Supporter
     http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2012-08/22/content_15694833.htm. Read this. It is more updated.

    www.chinadaily.com.cn

    Hong Kong fishing vessel Kai Fung No 2 reached Hong Kong water on Tuesday evening.
    26 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME
    PRC Supporter, this article from the CHINA DAILY about the government’s official stance has little to do with 1) HK people’s sentiment, and 2) anything with your argument that collecting 6k makes you Chinese! Ruth cannot enter China under the same conditions as a PRC passport holder. I’m 100% American, and even with its ups and downs, and the regular embarassment I may face being American, that isn’t changing anytime soon.
    24 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • PRC Supporter

     ME: It is not about sentiment at all. It is all facts. You are sensitive about your own identity and you are sentimental. No one here ever ask to you claim that you are 100% American. You don’t have the responsibility to join the discussion of this topic. Calm down sweetheart. :D.
    16 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME

     I am completely calm! But what you say is entirely off point and don’t address what have been both Ruth and my points. I can participate in any debate I like — because I’m in HK, not China 😀
    14 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • Expat-PR

     I agree with ME- talking about identity IS emotional and China is not interested in any one individual’s particular sentiments on the matter – they have their own agenda. You have to be careful if you’re going to tackle this topic tonight – so easy to offend…
    11 minutes ago ·UnlikeLike · 1
  • ME
    For the record, I pointed out my own nationality for the purposes of demonstrating (1) what Ruth pointed out — the inherent link between sentimentality and identity, and (2) to also show that I need not be among the parties (Chinese or HKese) to find this interesting / involving.

    9 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • PRC Supporter
    ME: you are so legal. 😀 If you are so embarassed here why not go back home and find a job there? All I can see is a friend here all of a sudden claims that she is a 100% American. I feel sorry for the embarassment you had but this has nothing to do with this topic. Do you have PR in Hong Kong?
    7 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME
    I’m not embarassed about being American. I was referring to how it’s not necessarily so fashionable to be American, and yet I am still proud to call myself American. As for a job, I am not here because I am not employable in the US. As for wanting to go back – I most definitely do want to, especially with the evolving (or devolving) political climate in HK. And no, I do NOT have PR, nor am I particularly interested in it.
    5 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • PRC Supporter
    ME: so you don’t fit into any part of the topic. y u spend so much time discussing this???
    4 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME
     As I said, it’s still interesting! It touches on topics that are still relevant to anyone who cares about identity, ethnicity, and nationality. I would think you’d welcome more points of views and encourage debate! But that is certainly not the Chinese way!
    2 minutes ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • PRC Supporter

     Expat-PR: thank you for the reminder. ME: thank you for the comments. It is time to go. 😀
    about a minute ago · “}’>LikeUnlike
  • ME

     Yes, I see you definitely identify yourself as Chinese!
 
 
 
 
 
 

4 responses to “So…What Are You? (Part II)

  1. I don’t think we should ever celebrate our nationality. Do I celebrate that I am white? Or take pride in the accomplishments of other whites? Would I prefer that I white person win a competition rather than a person of another race? Do I think that laws should be written in ways that make it difficult for non-whites to get jobs where I live?

    Some people, like neo-Nazis, do believe that we should do these things, but most of us do not.

    Somehow nationality is considered different, yet it is highly correlated with race, and (as far as I can see) has no more moral legitimacy.

    Of course, I am happy that the U.S. does many things well as a country. And since I live here, I am more concerned, and knowledgeable about, things here. So a provincial sense of loyalty is something I might find natural. But like the racial stereotypes I’ve learned, it’s also something I’m not proud of, and would never want to celebrate or encourage in myself or others.

  2. Nationality or race? I don’t think we should be celebrating race, but I do think we can certainly celebrate nationality. I am proud to be American and I cheer for my nation’s athletes and cry for my nationa’s lost soldiers. The history of the US, even though I have no ancestors involved in say the Revolutionary War, still means a lot to me.

    I do not particularly identify with being Mongoloid (that’s my race, right?), but I do identify with being Chinese — just to a certain extent only, however.

  3. But what about nationality makes it more worthy of our support than race? I understand that people DO support nationality, e.g. in the ways you just mentioned, and this is widely seen as unobjectionable, while doing the same for race would be generally condemned. But why SHOULD we? To me, it seems like loyalty to sports teams, except not harmless.

    On a related note, what do you think about the new ‘patriotism classes’?
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/hongkong/9520253/Hunger-strikes-in-Hong-Kong-over-new-Chinese-patriotism-classes.html

    • I think rooting for your nation is very much tied up with the meaning of citizenship — belonging to a social community, abiding by its rules, and contributing to it (taxes, civic service, military service). So I think it’s natural and in a sense, needed.

      As for the patriotism classes — it’s technically “moral and national” (there’s that word again!) education! I really should do a post on it (among many other big HK news pieces of late), but I’m pretty lazy – but stay tuned! Thanks for commenting, Aram!

Leave a Reply

