Occupy!

The legal sector went out and marched, and today (or tonight – as the protestors continue on through the night), Hong Kongers came out in droves.  HKers come out to march every July 1, handover day, but this time it’s special, in light of the recent white paper. The police and “officials”, whoever they are, are saying the count is in the tens of thousands (around 90,000), but the protestors say their last official count was 510,000.

Looking at some of the images captured throughout the day – I am inclined to go with the protestors’ camp.

I keep refreshing the SCMP’s live feed of the events, and was watching some live stream from the scene of the protest.  It’s amazing. I found myself almost moved to tears a few times during some of the earlier protests, watching the passion, and even now, as the numbers dwindle, and protestors are being arrested, I am still glued to the situation – even if my Chinese is not that good.

I am proud of Hong Kong.  I am proud to have been among them for so many years.  I am watching with fear as it becomes more and more self-evident that Hong Kong is facing an all-out war for whatever it has left.

This is just a quick post to say that I’m watching and supporting you Hong Kong.

3 responses to “Occupy!

  1. Pingback: HK Solicitors Stood Up | Because It's Time

  2. Hi! Firstly, thank you for writing this blog. I am an Indian qualified lawyer fm Mumbai trying to make the move to HK and intend to qualify as a solicitor. I graduated last year and intend to head to Hong Kong only after getting the requisite 2 year experience fr the OLQE by 2015/2016. Hopefully by that time I plan to improve my Mandarin language skills. Though its a bit of an expensive route to take, I plan to do an LLM at HKU which will takes care of the residency requirements and also so I can stay long enough to find a foot in the door.

    I know you mentioned ‘scary stuff in store’ for the legal profession. My question to you is should i head there next year (2015) or would heading there in 2016 (after 2 years) be too late and many things may change by then?

    If things don’t work out in HK, I can always go back to India and work there. ts not really lack of opportunity in India but I just feel its time to head out, explore and do something different. I’ve never been to HK in my life though I your blog has given me a pretty good insight into what to expect.

    • Hi Avi. Good luck with your plan! I definitely believe if you have the tenacity and fight in you, you can achieve big things.

      Have you been reading the SCMP or following local HK news? Unfortunately, it continues to get hairier by the day, and it is hard to say how the relationship between China and HK will evolve by 2015 or 2016. I am a regulatory lawyer, so for me, it has a direct impact on what I do. So it is both worrisome in terms of general life in HK as well as in my profession.

      Good luck and I’m so glad that my writings have been helpful!

Leave a Reply

